When facing charges of assault in Colorado you need an attorney that is serious about getting the fair treatment and results you want. These charges can be detrimental to your future and you want to be sure you make the right choice when choosing an attorney. Our experience in Colorado assault charge defense is what you need.
Charged with a crime in Colorado? Please call (888) 205-9314
You may have been defending yourself against an attack and had no choice but go on the offensive. Fights are the most common types of assault charges, and the police commonly charge the wrong person of a crime. If that happen to you, we can help.
In that case, you should not have been charged with the crime of assault at all and are innocent of the charges against you. Or if you feel you made a mistake and let things get out of hand and your temper get the better of you, you still need legal counsel. Whatever the situation, we want to help.
When you are facing a permanent criminal record, large fines, and even possible jail time, we understand you are likely under a lot of stress and wondering who to turn to. You need to entrust your case to a Colorado assault attorney who will aggressively pursue your interests. We can be that firm, making sure you get the defense you deserve.
Colorado Assault Laws & Penalties
3rd Degree Assault – Laws & Penalties
The least serious assault classification is 3rd degree assault. You may be charged with a misdemeanor assault offense, or “simple assault” if you knowingly or recklessly cause bodily injury to someone or if you cause bodily injury with a deadly weapon acting with criminal negligence.
This means that if you are in possession of a deadly weapon and someone gets hurt because of your negligence, you could face this criminal charge. Negligence means it could even be an accident.
Third degree assault is a Class 1 misdemeanor that carries an elevated sentence. You could face as much as 3 years in prison for this misdemeanor.
Ref: CRS 18-3-204
2nd Degree Assault – Laws & Penalties
A serious felony, you may be charged with 2nd degree assault if you do any of the following:
- Intentionally cause injury to someone with the use of a deadly weapon
- Recklessly cause injury to someone with the use of a deadly weapon
- Intentionally cause injury or mental impairment to someone by the use of drug or substance
- Cause injury while attempting to prevent a law enforcement officer or firefighter from doing their lawful duty
If convicted of this typically Class 4 felony, you face a potential elevated sentence of 4 to 12 years in prison and fines reaching $2,000 to $500,000.
Second and first degree assault charges in Colorado are commonly know as felony aggravated assault.
Ref: CRS 18-3-203
1st degree Assault – Laws & Penalties
The most serious assault offense under Colorado law is 1st degree assault. You could be charged with this offense if you do any of the following:
- Intentionally cause serious bodily injury to someone with a deadly weapon,
- Intentionally disfigure, destroy the use of a member, or amputate a member of another person
- Knowingly engage in conduct which creates grave risk of death to someone and results in serious bodily injury
- With the intent of causing serious bodily injury to a police officer or firefighter, you threaten them with a deadly weapon
Assault in the 1st degree is considered a Class 3 felony and carries an elevated sentence of 8 to 24 years in prison and fines reaching $3,000 to $750,000.
Ref: CRS 18-3-202
Overwhelmed By A Criminal Assault Charge in Colorado? Free Legal Consultation
Facing charges like this should not be done alone or with a less than experienced attorney. We know what you are up against and want to fight for your freedom. Call today to discuss your Colorado assault charges with an experienced lawyer. We know how to help. The consultation is free.