Charged with a crime in Colorado? Please call (888) 205-9314
Damaging another person’s property in Colorado is a criminal offense, and leads to charges like criminal mischief and defacing property. Anytime you are facing a possible criminal sentence, hefty fines, and a permanent criminal record, you need a defense lawyer on your side to protect your rights in court. Our Colorado defense lawyers are here to help you.
Whatever happened, whether the damage was simply an accident or you made a mistake in a moment of anger, you are still presumed “innocent until proven guilty”, and deserve fair treatment under the law.
If you are innocent of the charges against you, we will fight for you and defend you aggressively.
Or if you feel you simply made a terribly mistake you regret, and want to get past this, we will protect you against an unfair penalty, and fight for reduction of charges, and the minimum penalties allowed by law. Everyone makes mistakes, and you deserve a second chance.
Because we have handled many criminal cases in Colorado like yours, we can tell you what to expect, might happen, and go over your options.
We want to help you with your case and work diligently to get the results you deserve. Contact us for a free criminal defense case evaluation and consultation today.
Colorado Criminal Mischief – Laws & Penalties
Criminal mischief is defined as knowingly damaging the property of another including if that property is owned jointly between you and another. The charge you face for this crime depends on the value of the damage to the property in question.
|Value of damage||Charge||Potential sentence – Criminal Mischief Charge|
|Less than $500||Class 2 misdemeanor||3 months to one year in jail and $250- $1,000 in fines|
|$500- $1,000||Class 1 misdemeanor||6- 18 months in jail and $500- $5,000 in fines|
|$1,000- $20,000||Class 4 felony||2- 6 years in prison and $2,000- $500,000 in fines|
|$20,000 or more||Class 3 felony||4- 12 years in prison and $3,000- $750,000 in fines|
Ref: CRS 18-4-501
Colorado Defacing Property – Laws & Penalties
Defacing property includes graffiti or damaging not qualified under criminal mischief. If you are charged with defacing property, you will typically be charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor. Class 2 misdemeanors are punishable by 3 months to one year in jail and fines from $250- $1,000.
Ref: CRS 18-4-509
Colorado Trespassing – Laws & Penalties
Trespassing In the 3rd degree
3rd degree trespassing is a Class 1 petty offense in most circumstances and carries a potential sentence of 6 months in jail and $500 in fines.
You may be charged with this offense if you are accused of unlawfully entering or remaining on the property of another.
Trespassing In the 2nd degree
2nd degree trespassing is typically considered a Class 3 misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and fines of $50. You may be charged with this crime if you unlawfully enter or remain on the fenced or walled property of another, enter or remain in the common areas of a hotel, or unlawfully enter or remain in the motor vehicle of another.
Trespassing In the 1st degree
1st degree criminal trespassing is a Class 5 felony punishable by 1 to 3 years in prison and fines up to $100,000. If you are accused of unlawfully entering or remaining in a dwelling of another person or entering another’s vehicle with intent to commit a crime, you can be charged with this serious felony.
Ref: CRS 18-4-502 through 504
Free Consultation on any Criminal Mischief, Defacing Property or Trespassing Charge in CO
If you are facing a criminal charge and you are unsure of what to do, calling an experienced attorney is a good first step. Get in touch with us today for a consultation on your case. We can help you through your legal problems, and help you get on with your life.
Find out how by calling us for your consultation today.