Disorderly conduct is somewhat of a broad law under Colorado criminal statutes. There are many actions that could be interpreted as disorderly conduct, especially if the police are annoyed and looking to take control of a situation quickly. Arresting people for disorderly conduct can be a shortcut to settling a dispute.
Charged with a crime in Colorado? Please call (888) 205-9314
Regardless of what got you this charge, we can help you sort out your options as part of a free criminal defense case evaluation.
When facing any criminal charge in the state of Colorado, it is important to know what you are up against. Our experienced defense attorneys can be on your side ready to face those challenges. Having successfully defended many clients in similar situations, we know we can help you.
If you are innocent and you feel you were treated unfairly or if your actions were misinterpreted by police, we will fight for a dismissal of these charges.
Or if you let a situation get out of hand, and showed bad judgment at a difficult time, we can help minimize the damage and protect your rights to fair treatment in court. We know that people make mistakes and you regret he actions that brought you to these charges.
Either way, you need someone who is there as your advocate, and who is concerned only about what happens to you. Please contact us for a criminal defense legal consultation.
Colorado Disorderly Conduct – Laws & Penalties
There are a few ways you can be charged with disorderly conduct. The penalty you face depends on the conduct that brought you the charge.
Class 1 Petty Offense Disorderly Conduct
You can be charged with a class 1 petty offense if you commit disorderly conduct by either:
- Making a coarse or offensive gesture, utterance or display in a public place and it causes a “breach of peace”, or
- Making an unreasonable noise in public or near a private residence that you have no right to occupy.
Although petty offenses typically won’t get you a jail sentence, a class 1 petty offense is punishable by up to a $500 fine and 6 months in jail.
Class 3 Misdemeanor Disorderly Conduct
You may be charged with a class 3 misdemeanor if you commit disorderly conduct by fighting in public. A class 3 misdemeanor is punishable by $50 fine and up to 6 months in jail.
Class 2 Misdemeanor Disorderly Conduct
Class 2 misdemeanor disorderly conduct is punishable by 3 months to one year in jail and fines from $250 to $1,000. You may be charged with this offense if you do either of the following:
- Unlawfully discharge a firearm, or
- Display a deadly weapon or another item representing a deadly weapon or say you have a weapon in a public place with the intention of causing alarm.
The definition of a weapon can often be exaggerated to be many innocent objects when faced with charge.
Ref: CRS 18-9-106
Obstructing a Peace Officer / Resisting Arrest
Though it is not the same as a disorderly conduct charge, obstructing a peace officer is a criminal offense in Colorado. If you interfere with the duties of a police officer, firefighter, emt, or other peace officer, you can be charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor criminal offense.
This is not the same as a resisting arrest charge, which is a separate criminal offense. Resisting arrest is also a class 2 misdemeanor.
Obstructing a Peace Officer CRS 18-3-104
Resisting Arrest CRS 18-8-103
Get a Free Legal Consultation on Your Colorado Disorderly Conduct Arrest Today
As you can see, disorderly conduct is a very broad law. Whether you were alleged to have been shouting obscenities, fighting or causing any kind of disturbance, you can be charged with disorderly conduct. But what it really means is that you probably did something that annoyed the police, and often that isn’t fair. We can help fix this problem and let you get on with your life.
Call to discuss your case today. Find out what we can do to help you. The intitial consultation is free.