Being arrested and charged with criminal driving on a suspended license (known as driving under restraint in Colorado) is a shocking experience, even if you knew that your license was suspended (and many people do not).
Charged with a crime in Colorado? Please call (888) 205-9314
When you are facing tighter restrictions and a real possibility of jail time, you need the help of an experienced defense lawyer in Colorado who knows the criminal law as well as the rules of the Colorado DMV licensing procedures and policies. Please contact us and we will fight tirelessly to ensure you get good results in court.
We understand how inconvenient it is to lose your license. You have probably had to depend on friends and family to get you where you need to go. Maybe you took that chance, but got caught.
Or there may be a perfectly legitimate defense that you didn’t even know your license was under suspension. There could have been a mistake by the DMV, or a notification error.
But whatever caused this serious criminal charge, you have to defend yourself against the risk of a permanent criminal record, fines, and even jail time. We can help. Please contact us to take advantage of our legal consultation, and find out exactly how we can help you.
Colorado Suspended License (Driving Under Restraint) – Laws & Penalties
If you are caught driving while your license is revoked or suspended, even if it was suspended in a state other than Colorado, you will be charged with “driving under restraint“.
Driving under restraint is a misdemeanor in Colorado and carries a mandatory sentence of at least 5 days in jail. The judge can sentence you to up to 6 months in jail for this offense. You will also face a mandatory fine of at least $50 and up to $500.
If this is your second offense, a conviction of driving on a suspended license within five years, you will lose your license for a minimum of an additional 3 years. This additional suspension can make life even harder. Going without a license for that length of time can be very frustrating.
Ref: CRS 42-2-138
Free Legal Defense Consultation on Criminal Suspended License Charges
It seems crazy that you could spend time in jail for driving your car without any other problem, but Colorado’s suspended license laws make this a real possibility. But with an experienced defense lawyer fighting on your behalf, there are always opportunities to challenge the case and beat the charges in court – or at least get the penalties significantly reduced.
We understand what you are going through – this is a stress you never imaged you’d face. And we know that you are hoping to avoid an additional suspension, and get your life back to normal.
You need an aggressive defense attorney going to bat for you. We will make sure your rights are protected at every stage of the system and fight relentlessly for a positive outcome.
Call today to find out for yourself exactly how we can help. The consultation is free.