Being arrested and charged with a DUI in Colorado is a serious matter. Being accused of a second or subsequent offense charge carries even harsher sentences and more strict penalties.
Charged with a crime in Colorado? Please call (888) 205-9314
We know that DUI arrests are often based on highly subjective and biased information. So-called field sobriety exercises are seldom used in a scientific manner, and the police have been known to arrest people on a fairly thin suspicion of drunk driving.
Even though you are facing a second offense DUI charge, that does not mean you are guilty!
Of course, it is also true that everyone makes mistakes. It is possible that you underestimated the amount you had to drink before getting behind the wheel. You probably thought you were “okay to drive”.
But if you are getting ready to go in front of the judge again, with a prior DUI conviction on your record, the states are much higher.
You need a Colorado attorney with the experience to fight this charge at every stage of the game. You need an aggressive defense to prevent the harsh possible outcomes that include a risk of real jail time.
Even if you think you may be guilty, a defense lawyer with serious drunk driving defense experience can help you navigate your way to reasonable outcomes that other attorneys may not be prepared to argue.
With the stakes this high, you owe it to yourself to seriously evaluate any defense attorney before going into court. Contact us for a free case evaluation and find out what we can do for you. There’s no obligation for the consultation.
Colorado Second Offense DUI Laws
You can be charged with DUI for testing over the legal limit, or for driving when it is obvious that you are under the influence. This means that perhaps you are driving erratically or fail a field sobriety test. In other words, a blood alcohol test is not needed for a DUI conviction.
The legal blood alcohol limit is .08% BAC in Colorado.
Colorado Penalties – 2nd Offense DUI
Some of the penalties you face for a 2nd or subsequent DUI charge include:
- Minimum 10 day jail sentence
- Additional jail time of 90 days to 1 year
- Fines reaching $1500
- At least 60 hours community service and up to 120 hours
Your driver’s license will also be revoked, typically for a minimum period of 90 days. Because both the DMV and the criminal courts have a say in the length of your revocation, you risk losing your license for some time.
Ref: CRS 42-4-1301
Colorado DUI – High BAC Penalties
If you are charged with DUI and your blood alcohol content was over .20%, you will be charged with the above potential 2nd offense level penalties, even if it is your first DUI.
A person driving with a high concentration of alcohol in his or her system is alleged to be more dangerous to the public, and is a more reckless act. Therefore, the penalties under Colorado law are higher.
Don’t Know Where to Get Help on a CO DUI 2nd Offense? Free Legal Consultation
Colorado criminal courts are not easy on DUI offenders. They want alleged drunk drivers off the road and will do what is necessary to keep it that way. This likely has you scared of losing your license and also your freedom. Overly aggressive prosecution demands a legal defense that this just as tough.
We can help. We will fight your charges in court, and challenge the district attorney at every step. We will take your case to trial and defend your rights. We can increase the chance that you will serve probation rather than active jail time and we can also make sure your rights are protected at every stage of the criminal justice process.
Call to discuss your Colorado DUI case today with an experienced firm, ready to go to bat for you. At a time like this, you need the best CO DUI defense lawyer you can get.