Being caught drunk driving can be a life changing experience. If like most people, this is your first exposure to the Colorado criminal courts, you are likely stressed and frightened of what may happen. We know what you are up against and want to help.
Charged with a crime in Colorado? Please call (800) 927-0644
Nearly anyone could be arrested for drunk driving. Colorado police will often arrest people on any slight suspicion of alcohol consumption or impairment. And since small amounts of alcohol affects people differently, and field tests and breath tests have significant biases toward “failure”, innocent people are charged with DUI in Colorado all the time.
Or maybe you make a mistake in judgment, and regret your actions. You may have been leaving a holiday party or watching the game with friends. You likely underestimated how much you had to drink and got behind the wheel. When you were pulled over you probably immediately questioned your judgment and started to regret driving.
Because you are not only facing jail time and fines but also a permanent mark on your record as well as a driver’s license suspension, you need an aggressive defense lawyer on your side when you day in court comes. We can make sure your rights are protected throughout the criminal justice process and will work diligently to get you the results you deserve.
You can be charged with DUI for driving erratically, being pulled over and being found to be under the influence, or you can be charged because a blood alcohol or breathalyzer test was done and you were over the legal limit.
Colorado DUI Laws
The legal limit in Colorado is .08%.
When charged with a DUI in Colorado, the penalties can get quite stiff. Fortunately, for a first time offense, accused DUI offenders have a much easier time than those who have prior convictions on their records.
Colorado DUI Penalties – First Offense
For a 1st offense DUI conviction, you face the following possible penalties:
- 5 days to 1 year in jail
- At least 48 hours of community service and as many as 86 hours
- Fines of $800- $1,000
- DMV License revocation for at least 90 days
Ref: CRS 42-4-1301
Get a Free Legal Consultation on any Colorado DUI Offense
As your defense attorney we can help you through this rough time. We can typically work out a deal for probation, fines, fees, and other expensive inconveniences for a 1st offense drunk driving charge that keeps you from an active jail sentence.
You may also be entitled to a probationary license that allows for you to drive to and from work or school. While these types of exceptions aren’t always available, it would be our job to investigate all possibilities in making this process as easy as possible for you.
When choosing an attorney for your first DUI charge, you want to be certain you are getting a firm with experience, but also an attorney that is willing to fight relentlessly for a positive outcome in your case.
We can help you. Call for a consultation on your Colorado DUI case today.