Not all driving offenses are as simple as a ticket. Careless driving and reckless driving are criminal offenses in Colorado. This means if you are convicted of a careless or reckless driving charge, you will have a criminal record.
Charged with a crime in Colorado? Please call (888) 205-9314
No one wants a criminal conviction, but in many cases, this can be avoided. Call us to discuss your case today and see how we can help.
The laws governing careless and reckless driving are deliberately vague, so that the police can claim many situations are reckless or careless, and issue a criminal citation on their own discretion. Almost certainly you never thought you were committing a crime when you were pulled over. Now, however, you are facing criminal charges and need the help of an experienced Colorado defense lawyer.
Whether you were simply in a hurry, were distracted or if you let your temper get the best of you while on the roadways, you are accused of a serious criminal offense. There is even a real possibility of jail time for you. You need an aggressive attorney who knows how to fight these charges, and can work to get a reduction down to a civil traffic citation whenever possible.
Colorado Careless Driving – Laws & Penalties
You may be charged with careless driving if you drive in a careless manner “without due regard” while on the roadways. Typically careless driving is a Class 2 misdemeanor offense and is punishable by up to one year in jail as well as fines ranging from $250 to $1,000.
If, however, while driving carelessly, an accident occurs that results in bodily injury to another (including death), the charge is elevated to a Class 1 misdemeanor. If this is the case, you could face up to 18 months in jail and fines of $500 to $5,000.
Ref: CRS 42-4-1402
Colorado Reckless Driving – Laws & Penalties
Reckless driving is only slight more serious than careless driving. You may be charged with this offense if you drive in a manner that indicates “wanton or willful disregard” for the safety of people or property. This is a Class 2 misdemeanor offense which is punishable by up to 1 year in jail.
If you are convicted of reckless driving twice you will serve no less than 10 days in jail and you will pay a minimum fine of $50.
Ref: CRS 42-4-1401
Free Consultation on Colorado Careless & Reckless Driving Charges
Facing jail time for what you thought was a traffic ticket can be a stressful experience. Now more than ever, you need someone on your side who can defend you in court, and fight for a reasonable outcome you can live with.
As your attorney, we will make sure you stay informed at every stage of the process, protecting your rights and ensuring you are treated fairly.
If you are facing a criminal driving offense, call us to discuss the specifics of your case today. We’ll let you know exactly what you can expect from us, and what we can do to help you fix this problem.