For most people accused of a theft offense, it is their first exposure to the Colorado criminal courts. It can be a frightening and intimidating experience. You may be concerned about the possibility of facing jail time and a permanent criminal record.
Charged with a crime in Colorado? Please call (800) 927-0644
The right attorney can allay your fears, and give you the facts you need to fix this problem as painlessly as possible. Call today to discuss your charges and find out how an experienced and aggressive Colorado defense attorney can help.
Most people who make a dumb mistake and steal or shoplifting something feel absolutely terrible. So if you made a bad or stupid decision, don’t beat yourself up.
What’s important is that we try to fix the problem as quickly as possible.Whether you were caught shoplifting or stealing a car, you do not want to enter into the Colorado court system without a skilled attorney.
An experienced criminal defense lawyer will aggressively defend your case and make sure your side is heard in court. Even if you think you are guilty, you deserve fair treatment, and a reasonable penalty. As your attorney, it is our job to get you fair treatment, not overly harsh treatment.
And if you are falsely accused of something you didn’t do or were an unwilling participant with someone else, we will fight to fix this, and argue that your case should be dropped.
Whatever happened to you, we are interested in your case. Although we have handled many cases like yours, we treat your case and you as an individual with the respect and time you deserve.
Colorado Theft / Shoplifting Laws
A general theft charge can apply to shoplifting and many other situations. There are a few ways that you can be charged with theft. If you are accused of knowingly obtaining or exercising control over anything of value without authorization and you do any of the following, you may face a theft charge:
- Intend to deprive the owner of the use of the property permanently,
- Knowingly use, conceal, or abandon the property so that it would deprive the owner of it permanently,
- Demand anything in exchange for restoring the property to its rightful owner
Theft Offense Penalties
The charge you face depends on the value of the property in question.
|Theft Value||Charge||Potential Sentence|
|Less than $500||Class 2 misdemeanor||3 months to 1 year in jail and $250- $1,000 in fines|
|$500- $1,000||Class 1 misdemeanor||6-18 months in jail and $500- $5,000 in fines|
|$1,000- $20,000||Class 4 felony||2- 6 years in prison and $2,000- $500,000 in fines|
|More than $20,000||Class 3 felony||4- 12 years in prison and $3,000- $750,000 in fines|
The circumstances of your offense may elevate your charge. For instance, if you take the property by force or threat of force, your charge will be a Class 5 felony, at minimum, regardless of the value. This means you will face 1 to 3 years in prison and fines up to $100,000 no matter the value of the property that is stolen.
Likewise, if this isn’t your first theft conviction, you will face a higher charge. If you have a prior theft offense within 6 months of this new charge you will face 2 to 6 years in prison if the property is valued less than $20,000 or 4 to 12 years if the property is valued over $20,000.
Ref: CRS 18-4-401
Charged with Shoplifting / Theft in Colorado? Get the Criminal Defense Advice You Need
Theft is a serious offense with serious penalties. Whatever happened, you’ve got a real legal problem on your hands. Our attorneys can talk you through the process, and suggest defenses, legal alternatives, and let you know exactly what you are likely facing with a theft charge in Colorado criminal court.
Call today to discuss the charges you are facing and how we can help.