If you are accused of having an illegal weapon or if you committed a crime and had a weapon with you at the time of the offense, you may be facing prison time and large fines, as well as a permanent mark on your record. We know how intimidating this can be and want to help.
Charged with a crime in Colorado? Please call (800) 927-0644
Whether you believe you are falsely accused, or made an honest mistake and regret some poor choices, you need someone on your side in court on such a serious criminal matter.
Our defense attorneys have experience with criminal and weapons cases in and know what you are up against. We know what it takes to get the best possible results in court and are willing to work diligently on your case to protect your rights, under the Constitution and the laws of Colorado..
When you are facing criminal charges in the state of Colorado, there is a lot riding on your choice in attorneys. You need a skilled and aggressive lawyer that will defend you against your weapons charges. Call to discuss your case today, and we”ll explore how we can help you right away.
Under Colorado law, a deadly weapon is defined as knives, both loaded and unloaded firearms, bludgeons, or any other object capable of producing serious bodily injury or death.
Ref: CRS 18-1-901
Unlawful Possession of Weapons – Laws & Penalties
You may be charged with unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon or unlawful possession of a weapon if you are accused of any of the following:
- Carry a firearm concealed on you,
- Carry a knife concealed on you, or
- Carry, bring, or have in your possession a firearm, explosive, or dangerous device withi the building or on the property of the general assembly or other qualifying state government buildings
This offense is a Class 2 misdemeanor and is punishable by 3 months to one year in jail as well as fines ranging from $250 to $1,000.
Ref: CRS 18-12-105
Prohibited Use of Weapons
There are certain things you cannot do with weapons. You may be charged with prohibited use of a weapon if you are accused of:
- Aiming a firearm at someone,
- Recklessly discharging a firearm or bow and arrow,
- Setting a trap or loaded gun to go off when tripped and leaving it unattended,
- Knowingly swinging or aiming throwing stars or nunchuks
This is a Class 2 misdemeanor and is punishable by 3 months to one year in jail and fines of $250-$1,000.
Ref: CRS 18-12-106
Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon
If you have lost your right to carry or possess a weapon because of past convictions and are found in possession, you will face serious charges under Colorado gun laws. Depending on the circumstances of your prior convictions and the situation you are now in, you can face up to a class 5 felony charge.
Class 5 felonies carry a potential sentence of one to three years in prison and $1,000 to $100,000 in fines.
Ref: CRS 18-12-108
Because of the danger of weapons, charges like these are taken very seriously in Colorado criminal courts. Being confident in your choice of attorney is vital.
We will work tirelessly on your behalf, aggressively defending you in court and working towards positive results.
Call to discuss your weapons related criminal charges today.